A New Day has come

Gallery

Group pic Turning 25, with it’s surprises.

Let’s get it straight 2014 was the WORST year of my life! Amongst other little things, the biggest jolt was losing my daddy dearest.

The idea of turning 25 would have been super exciting for me, after all it’s a silver jubilee by itself right? But it was different for me. The 24th Birthday celebrations still seemed so fresh in my head, I could remember the new wall paper put at home, the aroma of the tandoori chicken my dad prepared, the fake funny smile he gave when I told him to pose, the tightttt hug when he wished me, how he sat with the guests and chatted away about their times.. this time without dad, I didn’t feel like celebrating at all. So much so that often when my friends asked me what my plans were, it was only then that it would strike me my Birthday was approaching and then I would forget again. On any other Birthday I would stay awake excitedly awaiting calls at sharp 12. This time I fell asleep at 11:45pm! I had decided instead of taking the day off, I would attend work as any other day, nothing fancy at all.

Just one thing slipped off my mind, that I had awesome friends and loved ones!

Surprise 1. As I said I fell asleep at 11:45pm, spoke in my sleep when people called at 12am (I don’t even remember who all), and at 12:15, my doorbell was rung!! So in my night clothes and night hair, unprepared for any surprise I had 2 of my closest friends- Nolasco and Joyson there, with food, pastries, gifts and cameras!
Must admit cutting pastries with close friends is much more fun than a big cake! They did bring some excitement in me and then left me to my 6 hours of sleep before work.

earphones

Night clothes, Night Hair and New ear phones!

My dear co- worker T was off that day so it was just my manager and me. Thankfully no one much knew or realised so it was pretty much a regular day in office. My manager thought cake is over rated so he got me pizza from CPK to cut 🙂 I couldn’t ask for more.

Surprise 2. Darling T at work was actually off for the day,but she made it a point to make my day special, as she surprised me by dropping in for just 10 mins, along with a card, cupcake, and chocolate! Isn’t that cute?

Surprise 3. Now that I had two of those close friends visit me at night, with them wishing me a good start to my year ahead, I thought that was that. Turns out, it wasn’t. Nolasco who I’ve been coaxing for 4 years to come visit my office sometime ,maybe catch an early dinner after work around here, never did. So imagine, I was almost done at work and packing up and then I got a call from the security saying some guy called Nolasco has come to meet me!!! 😀 It was a little unexpected! It felt so wonderful. Not that we don’t meet often, not that we were going anywhere or had plans, it was just the thought in his head to bring a big smile on my face. We took the sky walk from BKC to the station, caught our trains and headed towards my home as I decided maybe I could do dinner with a few close ones.

Surprise 4. It was a day of enough surprises. Or so I thought. I went home with Nolasco, my sister Rita was around. Hardly I entered the house, I heard a group of mad youngsters (the rest of my gang- Karen, Joyson, Tabu, Ryan) yell SURPRISE- HAPPY BIRTHDAY! as they stood at the door, their hands full of cake, balloons and bags of gifts!!! It was the biggest surprise for me ever! Especially since I didn’t have anything for this day in mind. How they planned it, when they did it, I don’t know how but it was really awesome! Balloons

BR cake

Ice cream cake From Baskin Robbins

ready to cut the cake. jpg The gifts received were : Mi In-ear Headphone(Piston Design), An Esbeda bag, a clutch, another navy blue office bag and a very novel Ice cream Birthday cake from BR. This surprise-filled day ended with a mughlai dinner out. That’s the least I could have done for these amazing bunch of people. And I’m sure my dad was around with a big broad smile, blessing me :-*

Mughlai dinner

Felt so darbar like at the Mughlai joint

Esbeda bag and matching clutch

Note: The ear phones are awesome for gifting, You may get them here

Hope you enjoyed reading the post!

Yours truly,
Thesilenthummer

3 thoughts on “A New Day has come

  1. Beautiful post! So glad that your friends and family made it a special birthday for you. Sorry about the loss of your Dad, losing a loved one is so hard! I do agree that he was smiling down on you and the celebration!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

