Dark Horse Art Festival 2015

Standard

Jute Camel

The one event I’ve been attending every year since college is the Kala Ghoda Art Festival. This year too, it was no different. It was a Saturday, the second last day of the festival, PLUS Valentines’ Day. In short it was super packed! Check out the crowd.

Crowd

My trip to the KGAF 2015 was never planned to be a Valentine day outing, t’was simply mere co- incidence. Bigger co- incidence? I wore a red shirt, that I’ve never worn ever!! It’s not like I’m anti- valentine, it’s just if I had realized, I would’ve chosen something else.

Me at KGF

On getting out of the cab, as we stood at the entrance, looking at the crowd we were in two minds whether we should get in or not. But we realized that the security check was just a formality and the lines were moving real quick. Rightly, I didn’t even have to open the zip of my bag at the security check point and I got in.
Despite the afternoon heat, the place was bursting with color and energy. There were the young and the old. College going youngsters, little boys and girls with their parents, even elderly couples were around. The stalls were packed, we attempted looking at the stuff in a few stalls initially but with the crowd it was tough, both for us as well as the stall keepers. We decided we’ll be happy just watching the art.
It’s amazing how every year they have magnificent themes and art installations, that too with very loud and clear social messages.
One of my favorites this year was the Big tap placed above a bigger bucket. As you looked into the bucket, there was a video on Saving Water. There were others too, see the pics.

Big tap

Wheels Art

Finger

A round of the entire place took us nothing more than an hour or a little more, considering we didn’t stop at too many stalls, just a few dozen pics you know.

Even outside the main venue, there were a lot of sellers with innovative and interesting things, right from posters, to junk jewellery, to floral hairbands, toys, musical flutes and what not. Getting a cab with all this hustle and bustle wasn’t possible no matter how tired we were, so we figured it was best to walk to CST Station and move accordingly from there.

Bubbles

Junk Jewellery

Floral Hairband

Life outside Kala Ghoda

Nolasco who loves photography, would never miss a chance to click this monumental building no matter how often he’s here, and this is what he captured.

CST monument

Over all, it was a great outing with friends, except wrong time of the day chosen. Lesson learnt.

Photo credits: Nolasco Alphonso

If you like his photography, write him a line here.

Yours Truly,
Thesilenthummer.

5 thoughts on “Dark Horse Art Festival 2015

  1. Those pictures reminded me how much I miss India. The colours of it are incredible and are something I will remember about that country for a very long time. Never made it to Mumbai though.

    Like

  2. Oh how I miss these festivals! I lived in mumbai (was bombay then!) for a year & a half. Took me a while to get used to the city, but when i did, I loved every bit of it. Haven’t been back in ages. Lovely pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

