If you just put pen(cil) to paper

Image

Working in a corporate environment, looking forward to Fridays is a very natural thing. But yesterday was one of the busiest I’ve had lately. I think it’s probably why my Monday was pretty chilled out.. In fact it was so chilled out, that I was able to make a decent phone cover for my phone’s almost broken case.
I’m not very good at letting go of things, even if it’s just a phone case. It was cracked a little, but somehow art and craft struck me when I saw this waste A/4 size sheet of paper lying around the printer at work. In fact it was there for days, probably just waiting for someone to put it to use. Everything needed to make this was at my desk.

IMG_20150423_212421
Apparatus:
Pencil, any paper you want as the cover, paper scissors, transparent cello tape and my cell phone case.

Method:
I immediately traced the case out on the blank side of the sheet, cut it out, got the tiny details cut out ( the best I could) , cut out long strips of tape and put them sticking to each other to give the paper a laminated look, cut out the extra tape around the edges of the traced paper, placed the sheet over the case and with some more tape I stuck it precisely on all 4 sides.

Time:
30 mins or less. ( I took much more time but that’s because I first made a matte one with matte tape which I didn’t quite like)

Observation:
If you look at it from a distance and do not directly feel it , you won’t be able to tell it’s paper. When I started doing it, it was just to pass my time. I didn’t realize it would look pretty decent 🙂

IMG_20150423_212752

Comments:
Some may argue it’s crappy but I’m partial to my craft work here.

People’s reactions so far are mixed really. Some appreciate the art and effort, some think the colors are too childish but I explain it’s from paper that was there already, my sister said she can afford to buy me a new case. My lunch pal at work realized why I kept my phone screen facing down. 😉

IMG_20150423_213018

All in all, I’m keeping it for a few more days until I think it’s time to change it with another print maybe 🙂
Will certainly keep you posted.

Oh also, the other day someone received flowers at work which is not a very common occurrence. Here’s a pic.

IMG_20150423_212032

Pretty, aren’t they?

Hope you all are enjoying weekend..

Yours Truly,
Thesilenthummer
Franchua D’Souza

3 thoughts on “If you just put pen(cil) to paper

Leave a Reply

