Just like the waving flag

Gallery

In a couple of days India celebrates 69 years of Independence. Of course it’s quite debatable if we Indians are actually independent or not. As much as the country wants to move ahead and catch up with the rest of the world, we have a few crabs that tend to pull the good lot down.

I won’t say much about how unsafe I feel travelling even at 8:00pm in a local train, I won’t say anything about how I fear taking panga with roadside romeos because it’s me who has to walk the same path almost every day, I won’t talk about the number of times I’ve requested ladies in my train compartment to not throw their fruit peels/ chip packets etc directly out of the train, neither will I talk about the number of times I’ve seen cops pass through railway tracks and not use the foot over bridge, or see traffic cops go triple seat on a bike thereby breaking rules, or how some selected festivals are allowed to be celebrated on the streets post 10pm with the loudest drums, trumpets, DJ systems playing so called religious songs.

There are times I crave peace. Like now. It’s 11:45pm as I’m typing this and I can hear taxis honking like there’s no tomorrow, the dosa man is banging the ladle on the tawa for whatever reason, there are the Mumbai galli boys yelling and calling out to their friends who are just 3 steps away. I can go on…

May be it’s just me and a few others who are affected by these things. Maybe this is the forever alive Mumbai spirit I always hear about. Probably a lot of people may even agree with all that I’ve said but not bother to express their thoughts. At the end of the day what matters is my country is independent for almost 69 years. It definitely means something. You must join the celebrations and watch the speeches given on the day to believe how much the country has progressed. If you’re lucky you may even get to enjoy some drama on the news channels with local politicians fighting over who will hoist the flag, at least it happened around 2 years back.

Wishing all my fellow country men and women a Very Happy Independence Day! May this country prosper in it’s true sense and may you always fly high, just like the waving flag.

Salute

Salute

Lots of love,

Thesilenthummer.
Franchua D’Souza

10 thoughts on “Just like the waving flag

  1. Happy independence day!! I hope you find some peace and quite soon. I have nominated you for the Premio Dardos award. It’s a blogger award. Take a look at my page for your nomination. Just wanting to give a fellow blogger some kudos.

    Like

  2. Hi Franchua!
    This was so well written. Being a girl from Mumbai too, I empathise.
    Thanks for liking my post btw. Hopefully you give my blog a follow too!😁
    That being said, do write more and congrats on 100 followers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

