Anywhere you go always take the weather with you

Gallery

How many people actually stick to their New Year Resolutions? Exercise daily, Quit smoking, complete the 100 days challenge, study everyday? I remember last year I made the resolution of travelling. Travelling to some place new, some where besides the annual trips to Goa. Domestic or International wasn’t important, what was important was just to explore a new place and surrounding. As much as I wanted to complete that resolution, I didn’t. 2014 was undoubtedly the worst year of my life personally.

Like the previous year, this year too, travelling was on my resolution list. But the procrastinator that I am, I didn’t really work towards making it happen. But somehow the resolution found itself on my lap, when I received an invitation to visit Ahmedabad. My cousin’s wife who currently works in Mumbai is from that city and she was visiting her hometown for the long Independence weekend. All I had to do was pack my bag and go along. Of course I accepted the invitation.

Whatever little I knew about Ahmedabad was through my elocution competition in school about Gandhiji and through the popular Taarak Mehta series. With regard to some Gujrati delecacies, as much as I’m aware that Gujrati food is easily available in Mumbai, I’ve never gone out of my way to eat it. Maybe if someone offered something at work, I’d just take a bite and that was it. So here I left no stone unturned and gorged on the khaman, dhokla, khakra, fafda, khandvi, dal wada, jalebis,shrikhand, pedas and so much more! I love reading these typical Gujju delicacies out loud all together, it tickles that funny bone a little.

Ahmedabad special

At the Vastrapur Lake

The beautiful River Front Garden

As a tourist I was shown around the famous places in the city. Although public transport is easily accessible with Auto rickshaws, regular buses and BRT buses around, the best way to commute was the 2 wheeler. It was convenient in so many ways. We covered the Kankaria Lake, Vastrapur Lake, the Ellis Bridge, the beautiful River Front, some temples and mosques, the church in Mani nagar, Alpha 1 mall, Himalya mall, the famous Manek Chowk that starts serving their delicacies only late evenings and my favorite- the Sabarmati Museum and Ashram (Gandhiji’s ashram). Doing this much in just 4 days was awesome and I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

A post specially dedicated to the Sabarmati Ashram will definitely make it on my blog soon. Enjoy the pics and Stay tuned.

Vastrapur Lake

River Front

River Front Garden

A big Thank you to Ro and her wonderful  family members for being such good hosts. It made my stay memorable and I’d definitely love to come visit you all again.

Roanna

With Roanna and Wilona

Lots of love,

Thesilenthummer
Franchua D’Souza

4 thoughts on “Anywhere you go always take the weather with you

  1. Looking at those pictures I thought it was in Bangladesh. Then I remembered there are a lot of similarities between India and Bangladesh in terms of scenery and lifestyle. 🙂

    By the way, an off-topic suggestion, I noticed you’re using a lot of tags on your posts. You may want to keep the number under 15 for maximum exposure on the WordPress.com Reader’s tag views. 🙂 You don’t have to do it, of course. I just thought it’d be nice to let you know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

