Walk like an Egyptian

Gallery

As a Fashion Blogger in Mumbai, one of the many feathers that you’d want in your hat is to attend a Fashion show at the Lakme Fashion Week. Though I’m a blogger, I’m practical enough to know that Lakme Fashion Week invites won’t be sent out to me at this stage.
But hey, just because I do not receive a personal invite doesn’t me I can’t arrange for passes right? Of course, it’s not that easy, but certainly worth the try.

LFW 9. jpg.jpg

I had pre-arranged an outfit (in my head) in advance, you know, just in case I did manage to arrange for passes. But as the week progressed, with no sign of passes, hopes became bleak. And to be honest, I was Okay with it (nothing is the end of the world, no?). On a Friday evening however, when I was at work anticipating the restful weekend ahead, just about 3 hours before the show by the designer Amit Aggarwal, I received my very own Lakme Fashion Week pass! Considering it was on such short notice, after some serious contemplation, whether I would make it on time to the show or not, will it be worth it or not, is my office outfit decent enough to go the Lakme Fashion Week or not, I decided to hell with everything, I was going!

LFW 4. jpg

LFW 1. jpg

Here are a few of my musings from the #LFW experience:

I’d been to the Hotel that was hosting the Fashion week quite a few times prior to this event, but never had it been this glamorous. As soon as the elevator door opened, I was transported to a fashion filled world. There were lean and tall people everywhere, the wackiest hairstyles (like literally ponytails defying gravity), the funkiest and weirdest clothing, glittery make up, cropped tops, cropped shorts, fringes and tassels, cool Keds and metallic shoes etc.
The first 5 minutes there I spent in fascination and astonishment. I may have even dropped a jaw a couple of times. Yes, that girl staring at you as though you were a ghost, was me!

I saw people walk in and about comfortably like they owned the place, but when it came to me, the security guard felt the need to confirm I’m an invited attendee and asked me for my pass. I happily flaunted it and walked by 🙂
Once my eyes adjusted the not-so-regular surrounding, I happily brought out my camera and started clicking away. Not selfies, but the set up, quirky things etc

LFW 7LFW 8. jpg.jpg

Amit Aggarwal’s show was a pleasure to watch. Some of those designs were eccentric. His show had frills, puffs, color-blocking, A lines, high-low dresses etc.
Take a look at the pictures to know what I mean:

LFW 2

LFW 3. jpg

LFW 13. jpgLFW 12.JPG

LFW 5. jpg

The show was done in 10mins, but with the exploring of other flashy stuff around, I stayed on for 2 and half hours altogether.

All in all, attending the Lakme Fashion week was one good experience. A little over rated I may say. The first few moments you spend in awe, but later it’s pretty easy to adjust as everyone’s busy doing their own thing and no one really bothers you. If you’re the type who gets starstruck easily like me , you will enjoy your time here.

LFW 6. jpg

Hope you enjoyed the post and pics. Would love to know what you thought of it.

Pictures: Nolasco Alphonso

Also, follow me on Twitter and Instagram.

Lots of Love,

The Silent Hummer
Franchua D’Souza

 

11 thoughts on “Walk like an Egyptian

  1. Hey lovely, i must say you have a lovely blog. Waiting for more blog post and yeah thanks for liking my blog post, if you like my blog then you can follow me on carryurswag.wordpress.com
    Hope to see you soon again.
    xoxo 🙂

    Like

  2. So nice to read about Indian Fashion which is truly underrated in my opinion in Western countries! We should import so many more Indian designers here… Lovely pics and lovely blog 🙂

    Like

    • Heyyyy @Svenjacole
      Thank you for reading and your comment. Well the Indian Fashion industry has started booming in a lot of the western countries compared to the earlier years but yes they’ve still a lot more to accomplish..

      Like

Leave a Reply

